About Us

United Twirl England (UTE) is the unified organisation, created by the merger of NBTA England and BBTSA, with the ultimate goal of forming a governing body for the sport of baton twirling & majorettes within England.

NBTA England

Formed in 1983, NBTA England was one of the founder members of NBTA Europe, which was formed in 1985.
NBTA England hosted the very first European Championships in Torbay, England in 1985.
Since then England has hosted three further European Championships; in Edinburgh (twice) and Jersey, plus three majorette championships in Crawley (twice) and Bath.
In 2000, England hosted the NBTA World Championships in Birmingham.
NBTA England is a member of the World Federation of National Baton Twirling Associations (WFNBTA).


Formed in 1971, the BBTSA have a 50-year history of developing the sport.
In 1977 the BBTSA came together with Twirling Organisations from around the world in London, England to form the WBTF.
In 1980 we attended the first World Baton Twirling Championship held in Seattle, USA.
In 1998 and 2010 we hosted European Championships in Portsmouth and Sheffield.
In 2014, the BBTSA hosted the WBTF world championships in Nottingham.
In 2016 and 2018 we provided tabulation experience to Sweden and Ireland.

Scroll to Top